July 7th, 2020

Entry Fee: $50 non members

View Tee Times


2019 REVIEW: The McLennan Ross Alberta Junior Tour moved north to Carstairs today after yesterday’s event at Pinebrook GCC in Calgary. We had 30 juniors on hand from Edmonton to Calgary and several points in between to vie for the overall title and for coveted spots in the 24th annual Tour Championship.

Devin Kucy of Camrose fired a solid 1-over par 73 to capture the overall low gross hardware in the junior boys’ division. Zach Grant of Pinebrook didn’t have his best day yesterday at his home track, but toured the Carstairs layout in 75 blows today, good for 2nd place, only 2 strokes behind Kucy. Jarret Bossert of Broadmoor GC in Sherwood Park and Kucy’s clubmate Rory Wutzke tied for third overall another two shots back on 77. Kucy, Grant and Wutzke all earned spots in the Tour Championship by virtue of their performances today, as Bossert had qualified earlier in the schedule. They will be joined by Wild Card qualifiers Joe Kelly (80) of Innisfail and Payton Born (80) of Valley Ridge. Branden Lailey of Wintergreen (87) qualified out of the flight for boys born in 2005 & later.

Payton and Branden, if you are reading this, you both left the course before I could get information from you for the Tour Championship. Please contact me at: dunc@parcommarketing.com so that I can get you your Tour Championship information.

In the Junior Girls’ division today, Brynne Davies of Earl Grey won her second event of the Tour season in style, blistering the back 9 in 2-under 34 en route to an outstanding score of 76. As Davies was already in the field for Wolf Creek, today’s qualifying spot went to runner-up Morgan McInnis of Olds, with a 98.

The Tour moves north about 35 km in the morning to the Olds Central Highlands GC for a 10 a.m. shotgun start. Next week’s three events are north of Red Deer at Whitetail Crossing GC in Mundare on Tuesday, Montgomery Glen GC in Wetaskiwin on Wednesday, and Thursday in Camrose. Entries are now being accepted for all three sites, and we expect to see many of the Edmonton and area juniors at those events next week.

This is not a complete list of every competitor today. These are the Top Six and Ties in each age group, who earned Titleist Order of Merit ranking points.


Boys Born in 2000, 2001 & 2002
1. Devin Kucy Camrose 73 Q
2. Zach Grant Pinebrook 75 WC
3. Jarret Bossert Broadmoor 77 PQ
4. Chase Bodoano Broadmoor 79
T5. Joe Kelly Innisfail 80
T5. Payton Born Valley Ridge 80

Boys Born in 2003 & 2004
1. Rory Wutzke Camrose 77 Q
2. Zachary Haydamack Springbank Links 81
3. Cole Fox Innisfail 86
4. Brandon Gratton Edmonton Petroleum Club 90
5. Dekin Benson Acme 94
6. Kade Asmundson Innisfail 112

Boys Born in 2005 & Later
1. Christopher Colberg Valley Ridge 84 PQ
2. Aiden Fong The Winston 85 PQ
3. Branden Lailey Wintergreen 87 Q
T4. Connor Czirjak The Winston 89
T4. Ryan Garbutt Windermere 89
6. Matthew Alloway Willow Park 91

Q = Qualified for Tour Championship
WC = Wild Card Qualifier for Tour Championship
PQ – Player had previously qualified for Tour Championship

Location: Carstairs
Pro: Kirk Williscroft
Phone: (403) 337.3382
Website: http://www.carstairsgolf.com