Montgomery Glen
July 29th, 2020




Montgomery Glen Junior Open Recap

By Dunc Mills

About seven years ago, a then 17-year-old Jaclyn Lee, fresh off capturing both the Alberta Golf Junior and Ladies Amateur Championships, dropped in to the McKenzie Meadows Junior Open on the McLennan Ross Alberta Junior Tour.  It was a way for Jaclyn to say ‘thank you’ to the Tour for providing a platform to help her launch a very successful career that led her to Ohio State University and the LPGA Tour.  We had a similar ‘wow’ moment this morning when the first look at the draw for today’s Montgomery Glen Junior Open featured the name of Annabelle Ackroyd of The Glencoe GCC in Calgary.  Ackroyd won the Alberta U-19 Championship earlier this month at The Links at Spruce Grove by six shots and was perfectly positioned the week prior to take the Alberta Amateur Ladies Championship when the final round was washed out, Ackroyd had to settle for a T3 finish, only two strokes off the lead. So, it was a very pleasant surprise to see Annabelle and her good friends Kaitlyn Wingnean of The Derrick and MacKenzie Baustad of Canyon Meadows in the field this morning.

Kaitlyn Wingnean

MacKenzie Baustad

The girls certainly did not disappoint with their play, as Ackroyd fired a 3-under par 71 (women’s par is 74) to edge Baustad and Wingnean by a single shot as the other girls were hot on her heels with 2-under par 72s of their own.  Baustad could have been even lower (she had 7 birdies on her card) were it not for an “ugly” quadruple-bogey 8 on the 12th hole after being in a greenside bunker in two. In fact, Ackroyd’s score was the overall low gross score of the day, boys included, and the club’s tradition has been to award a beautiful permanent trophy to the overall low gross champion.  The trophy has been awarded since 1952 and this was the first time that a junior girl’s name will be engraved on the hardware.  Ackroyd might be able to compete in the Tour Championship at Wolf Creek on August 28th, all depending on when she will be returning to compete for the University of Minnesota ladies’ golf team.  Baustad and Wingnean also earned their way into the field at Wolf Creek with their sparkling performances this afternoon.

Oh, yeah,,,the boys played today too.  Jace Shannon of Forestburg and Kye Fisher of Leduc tied for low gross in the boys’ division, shooting 3-over par 75s.  Both players came from the flight for those boys born in 2004-05 as many of the older boys on hand struggled a bit today and both Shannon and Fisher punched their tickets to Wolf Creek by virtue of their scores today.  Other qualifiers included Jason Ushko (78) from the flight for boys born in 2001-03,  and Tobias Buffam (77) of Calgary’s Valley Ridge GC from the flight for boys born in 2006 & later. Wild Card qualifiers today were Hayden Prins of Goose Hummock and Evan Williams from Silver Springs GCC in Calgary, both firing 81.  (Evan, if you’re reading this, you got away before I could get your contact information for the Tour Championship.  Please email me! – Dunc)

Next stop on Tour is the only 36-hole event on the 2020 Tour schedule at Goose Hummock Golf Resort northeast of Edmonton.  The field is sold out, as has been the case at every Tour stop so far this summer.


T1.  Jace Shannon                                  Forestburg                            75

T1. Kye Fisher                                         Leduc                                     75

T3.  Kohen Yeske                                   Valley Ridge                           76

T3. Greg Gurba                                       The Quarry                            76

T5. Aiden McGilvery                                Two Hills                              77

T5 Tobias Buffam                                    Valley Ridge                          77

7. Jason Ushko                                       Edmonton CC                        78

8. Saahir Sharma                                    Edmonton CC                        79

9. Seth Marriott                                       Lacombe                               80

T10.  Hayden Prins                                 Goose Hummock                   81

T10. Evan Williams                                 Silver Springs                         81

T10  Chris Colberg                                   Valley Ridge                           81


BOYS BORN IN 2001-03

1. Greg Gurba                                         The Quarry                            76 PQ

2. Jason Ushko                                      Edmonton CC                        78 Q

3. Seth Marriott                                      Lacombe                                80 PQ

4. Hayden Prins                                     Goose Hummock                   81 WC

T5. Nathan Mochulsky                         The Quarry                             82

T5. Nate Kasowski                                 The Quarry                             82


BOYS BORN IN 2004-05

T1. Jace Shannon                                 Forestburg                            75 Q

T1. Kye Fisher                                        Leduc                                    75 Q

3. Aiden McGilvery                                Two Hills                             77 PQ

4. Evan Williams                                    Silver Springs                     81 WC

5. Jackson March                                   Jagare Ridge                       84

T6. Owen Goertzen                               Riverside                               85

T6. Jaden Patel                                     Inglewood                              85



1.  Kohen Yeske                                       Valley Ridge                        76 PQ

2. Tobias Buffam                                     Valley Ridge                        77 Q

3. Saahir Sharma                                     Edmonton CC                     79 PQ

4. Chris Colberg                                       Valley Ridge                         81

5. Rylan Ramsey                                       Lacombe                              85

6. Daniel Boyle                                         Windermere                         89



1. Annabelle Ackroyd                              The Glencoe                       71 Q

T2. Kaitlyn Wingnean                             Derrick                                 72 WC

T2. MacKenzie Baustad                          Canyon Meadows               72 WC

4.Tessa Ion                                                Pinebrook                             80

5. Serin Gerard                                        River Bend                           93

6. Samara Cockburn                               Windermere                          96


Q =  Player qualified for Tour Championship at Wolf Creek Golf Resort on August 28th

WC = Wild Card qualifier for Tour Championship

PQ = Player had previously qualified for Tour Championship.



Location: Wetaskiwin
Pro: John Wilson
Phone: (800) 419-2913
Website: https://www.countryclubtour.com/